Posted by: Kathleen Mix | January 13, 2015

Resolution Alert

While others are back to their everyday routines and struggling to keep their New Year’s resolutions, I’m still looking back and considering what changes 2015 should bring. Making a resolution implies we recognize the need for change. But unless we can diagnose our ailments, we can’t effectively know how to cure them.
I want to be a more productive writer, so instead of simply resolving to be more productive I’m reviewing the volume of work I produced last year and hoping to figure out why I didn’t write more. Did I spend too much time researching details or writing profiles of characters? Did I read too many books for pleasure or watch too many crime shows on TV? Did I spend too much time trying to make every word of every chapter perfect as a way to avoid showing it to the world? Did I allow too much of my time to be sucked up by the quicksand pond called the Internet?
All these reasons for spending twelve months to complete two manuscripts are probably valid. But the big question is which of my time-wasting habits I can effectively eliminate or improve. Will setting self-imposed deadlines prevent me from editing every word of a ninety-thousand-word novel sixteen times? Can I find a better way to get to know my characters inside and out? Should I read fewer novels in my genre? Set a timer to limit my episodes online?
Most of our resolutions fall by the wayside quickly because they were made in haste. The beginning of a new year makes us feel buoyed and hopeful. We’ve been given a fresh start, and we don’t want to waste it. We make the mistake of vowing to change without knowing how or why.
Since we’re still early in January and you’re probably still burning with new resolve, I suggest you pause and reflect. What did you resolve? Why is that change necessary? What have you done in the past that turned out to be ineffective? What can you do differently that will result in success?
Change can happen. We can be better writers and people, make significant adjustments in our life. But we need to know where we’ve been before turning onto a new road. Why take a wrong turn and circle back to where you’ve already been?

Leave a Reply

Categories

