Posted by: Kathleen Mix | February 12, 2015

What’s the Title?

Finding the perfect title for a book can be a mind-boggling task. I’ve had titles jump into my head as if strapped to a bolt of lightning, and I’ve had titles vex me like the endless gray days of January.
For one of my early books, I thought I’d found a title that included all the necessary elements: suspense, adventure, and romance. All the time I was writing the story, the title was in the back of my mind.
Then my editor said, “Sorry. We have another book in the pipeline with a title that’s very similar. You’ll have to come up with something else.”
For days, I made lists of possibilities, adding to the bottom as I scratched off and eliminated from the top. My final choice pleased my editor but has never been my favorite.
The title I wanted for a manuscript I finished recently would have been extremely appropriate. Except Staying Alive has a search engine problem. The hundreds of returns for the BeeGees’ hit of that name could bury a book with that title several pages down on Google. If people can’t find a book, they can’t buy it. I want my story to be easy to purchase, so I reluctantly had to brainstorm alternate titles and choose something else.
With the hundreds of thousands of books that have been published, finding a unique title sometimes seems next to impossible. A good title should suit the genre, be relevant to the book’s theme, be relatively short, have impact, be easy to remember, and hopefully intrigue a browsing shopper. That’s a big order for any word or phrase.
Right now, I have one title I love, but no compelling story to go with it. I also have one story I want to write that so far lacks a good title. Hopefully, I’ll think of something wonderful soon, otherwise I may be investigating whether Untitled is taken.

Responses

  1. Best of luck! Wonderful post!

    Like

  2. Titles are almost the hardest part about writing, second only to the query letter!

    Like


Leave a Reply

Categories

